Mary Vixie Sandy, Ed.D.
Executive Director

 

msandy-smMary Vixie Sandy serves as the Executive Director of the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing, the nation's oldest independent standards board for educators. As a policy leader with more than 25 years' experience working in higher education and government, she currently oversees public policy related to educator preparation and licensing and directs an agency that awards over 250,000 credential documents per year and accredits more than 250 colleges, universities and local education agencies offering educator preparation programs. 

Previously, Dr. Vixie Sandy served as the Executive Director of the UC Davis School of Education CRESS Center, as an Associate Director of Teacher Education and Public School Programs with the California State University Chancellor's Office, and as a policy analyst for the California Department of Education and the California Postsecondary Education Commission. Dr. Vixie Sandy holds a Doctorate in Education from UC Berkeley, a Master's Degree in Education from UC Davis, and a Bachelor's degree in Philosophy from Sonoma State University. Her professional focus is on building the capacity of teachers, leaders, public schools and communities to meet the needs of California's diverse student body. 

Certification
Charlie Watters, Director
Email: cwatters@ctc.ca.gov

Division of Professional Practices
Vanessa Whitnell, Director
Email: vwhitnell@ctc.ca.gov

Professional Services Division
Teri Clark, Director
Email: tclark@ctc.ca.gov

Cheryl Hickey, Administrator
Email: chickey@ctc.ca.gov

Phyllis Jacobson, Administrator
Email: pjacobson@ctc.ca.gov

Catherine Kearney, Administrator
Email: ckearney@ctc.ca.gov

Performance Assessment Development
Amy Reising, Director
Email: areising@ctc.ca.gov

Administrative Services Division
Michele Perrault, Director
Email: mperrault@ctc.ca.gov

Enterprise Technology & Services Section
Darren Addington, Director
Email: daddington@ctc.ca.gov

Media Inquiries
Voicemail: 916-445-7912
Email: media@ctc.ca.gov
Commission News Room

 

Commission Mission, Vision, Values, and Goals

Updated April 27, 2017