COMMITTEE ON ACCREDITATION MINUTES

September 26, 2024

Commission on Teacher Credentialing

Committee Members Present

Agustin Cervantes
Allison Leggett
Anne Jones
Bob Frelly
J. Kevin Taylor
Jason Lea
Katrine Czajkowski
Malaika Bryant
Michael Hillis
Patrick McKee

Committee Members Not Present

Allan Hallis Julianna Sikes

Staff Members Present

Erin Sullivan, Administrator Cheryl Hickey, Administrator Rosemary Wrenn, Consultant Poonam Bedi, Consultant Jake Shuler, Consultant Miranda Guiterrez, Consultant Michelle Bernardo, Secretary

Present Via Technology

Jenny Chiappe, CSU Dominguez Hills Kimberley Radmacher, CSU Dominguez Hills Jessica Pandya, CSU Dominguez Hills Adriean Mancillas CSU Dominguez Hills June Hetzel, Biola University Christi Min, Biola University Shana Matamala, University of La Verne Amber Bechard, University of La Verne Jessica Decker, University of La Verne Karen Rock, Santa Clara USD Christine Berdiansky, Santa Clara USD Kristina Richardson, Sacramento COE Tammy Patten, Director, Sacramento COE Michelle McIntosh, Sacramento COE Steven Winlock, Sacramento COE Nirmla Griarte Flores, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Jeff Hittenberger, Vanguard University Nathan Brais, Vanguard University

Item 1 – Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting of the Committee on Accreditation was called to order by Co-Chair Bob Frelly at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 26, 2024. The meeting was held virtually with one member, Anne Jones, in attendance at the Commission offices in Sacramento.

Item 2 – Approval of the Agenda

It was moved, seconded (Taylor/McKee: abstain by Czajkowski and Lea) and carried to approve the September 2024 agenda.

Item 3 – Approval of the Minutes of the Prior Meetings

It was moved, seconded (Cervantes/Jones: abstain by Czajkowski and Lea) and carried to approve the August 2024 minutes with no corrections.

Item 4 – Program Approval Recommendations

There were 5 institutions with 5 programs for approval.

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Preliminary PK-3 Eary Childhood Education (ECE) Specialist Instruction Credential with intern pathways

Institutional representatives Dr. Jenny Chiappe; Dr. Kimberley Radmacher, Associate Professor, Co-Director Toros Teach LA, ECE Excellence Initiative; Dean Jessica Pandya; and Dr. Adriean Mancillas were present for questions about the proposed program.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Lea/Cervantes: recusal by Leggett) and carried to approve the Preliminary PK-3 ECE Specialist Instruction Credential with a student teaching and intern pathways for California State University at Dominguez Hills.

Biola University

Preliminary PK-3 Early Childhood Education (ECE) Specialist Instruction Credential Program.

The proposed program would be offered via student teaching pathways including an Integrated undergraduate and post-baccalaureate pathways

Institutional representatives Dr. June Hetzel, Dean of School of Education and Dr. Christi Min, Chair of B.A. Early Childhood were present to answer questions about the proposed program.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Taylor/Hillis: no recusals) and carried to approve the Preliminary PK-3 ECE Specialist Instruction Credential for Biola University.

University of La Verne

Preliminary Education Specialist: Extensive Support Needs with Intern pathway.

Institutional representatives Dr. Shana Matamala, Assistant Dean and Assistant Professor of Education; Dr. Amber Bechard, Associate Professor of Education, Chair Inclusive Education Program; and Dr. Jessica Decker, Professor of Education were present to answer questions about the proposed program.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Taylor/Czajkowski: recusal by McKee) and carried to approve the Preliminary Education Specialist: Extensive Support Needs program with intern pathway for the University of La Verne.

Santa Clara Unified School District

Designated Subjects: Adult Education

Institutional representatives Karen Rock, Principal, Director of Teacher Induction and Christine Berdiansky, Program Administrator, Santa Clara Adult Education were present to answer questions about the proposed program.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Leggett/Lea: no recusals) and carried to approve the Designated Subjects: Adult Education for Santa Clara Unified School District.

Sacramento County Office of Education

Designated Subjects: Career Technical Education

Institutional representatives Kristina Richardson, Director, School of Education; Tammy Patten, Director, School of Education; Michelle McIntosh, Director, Career Technical Education; and Dr. Steven Winlock, Executive Director were present to answer questions about the proposed program.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Taylor/Czajkowski: no recusals) and carried to approve the Designated Subjects: Career Technical Education for Sacramento County Office of Education.

Item 5 – Program Status Changes

This item is divided into two parts: Part 1 includes items for action by the COA and Part 2 are items for formal notification and do not require COA action.

There was only Part 1 Section C to act upon.

Section C: Adding a New Content Area

There were two institutions requesting to add new content areas to their existing programs.

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Bilingual Authorization: Tagalog

Institutional representative Dr. Nirmla Griarte Flores, Assistant Professor from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona was present to answer questions about the additional content area.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Czajkowski/Lea: no recusals) and carried to approve the addition of Tagalog to the Bilingual Authorization program offered at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

Vanguard University

Single Subject – Theatre

Institutional representatives Dr. Jeff Hittenberger, Dean, School of Education and Nathan Brais, Assistant Director of Graduate Education Programs were present to answer questions about the additional content area.

After discussion, it was moved, seconded (Taylor/Hillis: no recusals) and carried to approve the addition of Single Subject – Theatre for Vanguard University.

Public Comment

There were no public comments.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Co-Chair Bob Frelly adjourned the meeting at 2:56 p.m. The next meeting of the COA is scheduled for October 31, 2024.