Nomination of Co-Chairs for 2021-2022 May 2021

Overview of this Report

This item calls for the Committee on Accreditation to nominate individuals to serve as the Co-Chairs, one from K-12 education and one from post-secondary education, for the 2021-22 meeting year. The nominations and elections shall take place in accordance with the adopted procedures of the Committee on Accreditation (Committee). The nominations will be taken at this meeting with the election to follow at the Committee's June 2021 meeting.

Staff Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Committee nominate individuals to serve as Co-Chairs at this meeting. Nominations will be open at this meeting by the Administrator of Accreditation and will remain open until closed at the June 2021 meeting. Elections will follow at the June 2021 COA meeting.

Background

The Committee on Accreditation (Committee) has developed a <u>Procedures Manual</u> to govern its activities. Chapter Two addresses the Organization of the Committee. It lists the officers as two Co-Chairs – one representing K-12 public education and one representing post-secondary education – and describes their duties, procedures for the election of officers, a description of terms and term limits, and a mechanism for appointing officers pro-tempore.

According to the Procedures Manual, the "...nominations are to be made at the next to last regularly scheduled meeting of the Committee and the election should take place at the last Committee meeting of the year." The last Committee meeting of the year for 2021 will be the June 2021 meeting. The Administrator of Accreditation will open nominations for the Co-Chairs for 2021-22 at this meeting. The nominations will remain open through the start of the agenda item at the June 2021 meeting at which time the membership will vote to elect Co-Chairs.

Eligibility of Members for the Co-Chair

Section 202 of the COA Procedures Manual states, "No member of the committee shall be elected to the office of Co-Chair of the Committee for more than two one-year terms." Committee members may waive its Procedures Manual through a vote to allow for an individual to serve more than two terms, should it desire to do so. Anna Moore served for two terms (2015-16 and 2016-17) and then subsequently the Committee waived its rules to allow her to be reelected for 2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20, and 2020-21. Bob Frelly has served two terms as Co-Chair in 2018-2019, 2019-2020, and the Committee waived its rules to allow him to serve as Co-Chair in 2020-21. No other Committee member has previously served as Co-Chair of the Committee to date. If a member plans to make a nomination, the consent of the individual must be obtained.

The nominations for the Committee on Accreditation Co-Chairs for 2021-22 will be conducted