Nomination and Election of Co-Chairs for 2020-2021 June 2020

Overview of this Report

This item calls for the Committee on Accreditation to nominate and elect individuals to serve as the Co-Chairs, one from K-12 education and one from post-secondary education, for the 2020-21 meeting year. The nominations and elections shall take place in accordance with the adopted procedures of the Committee on Accreditation (Committee). Nominations were opened at the May 2020 meeting and will be closed at the June 2020 meeting. Additionally, the Committee will vote to elect its Co-Chairs for the 2020-2021 year at this meeting.

Staff Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Committee vote to elect two individuals to serve as Co-Chairs of the Committee for the 2020-2021 year.

Background

The Committee has developed a <u>Procedures Manual</u> to govern its activities. Chapter Two addresses the Organization of the Committee. It lists the officers as two Co-Chairs – one representing K-12 public education and one representing post-secondary education – and describes their duties, procedures for the election of officers, a description of terms and term limits, and a mechanism for appointing officers pro-tempore.

According to the Procedures Manual, the "...nominations are to be made at the next to last regularly scheduled meeting of the Committee and the election should take place at the last Committee meeting of the year." The last Committee meeting of the year for 2020 is the June 2020 meeting. The Administrator of Accreditation opened nominations for the Co-Chairs for 2020-21 at the May 2020 meeting. The nominations will remain open through the start of the agenda item at the June 2020 meeting. It will be closed at the June 2020 meeting and then the Committee will vote to elect Co-Chairs.

Eligibility of Members for the Co-Chair

Section 202 of the Procedures Manual states, "No member of the committee shall be elected to the office of Co-Chair of the Committee for more than two one-year terms." Committee members may waive its Procedures Manual through a vote to allow for an individual to serve more than two terms, should it desire to do so. Anna Moore served for two terms (2015-16 and 2016-17) and then subsequently the Committee waived its rules to allow her to be reelected for 2017-18, 2018-19, and 2019-20. Bob Frelly has served two terms as Co-Chair in 2018-2019 and 2019-2020. No other Committee member has previously served as Co-Chair of the Committee to date. If a member plans to make a nomination, the consent of the individual must be obtained.

At the May 2020 meeting, members of the Committee nominated Anna Moore and Bob Frelly as Co-Chairs. Additional nominations will be accepted at the June meeting prior to closing the nominations and vote by the Committee.