COMMITTEE ON ACCREDITATION MINUTES

August 6, 2019

Commission on Teacher Credentialing

Committee Members Present (Via Video

Technology)Anna Moore
Cheryl Forbes
Jomeline Balatayo

Jose Luis Alvarado Katrine Czajkowski

Michael Hillis-in person Martin Martinez-in person

Absent Members

Bob Frelly Cathy Creasia Cynthia Amos Gerard Morrison Iris Riggs

Commission Present

Haydee Rodriguez (via video)

Staff Members Present

Teri Clark, Director Erin Sullivan, Administrator Lynette Roby, Consultant Michelle Bernardo, Secretary

Others Present

Margaret Fortune, Fortune School Carmy Preston, Fortune School Dr. Roque Neto, Fortune School Dr. Angelo Williams, Fortune School Erin Sipes, Fortune School Bonnie Benson, Fortune School Marilyn Delgado, Fortune School

Item 1 - CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The June 2019 meeting of the Committee on Accreditation was called to order by Co-Chair Anna Moore at 1:34 p.m. on Tuesday, August 6, 2019.

Co-Chair welcomed and introduced the two new COA members:

- Martin Martinez Sacramento County Office of Education
- Michael Hillis California Lutheran University

Item 2 - APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

It was moved, seconded (Alvarado/Czajkowski) and carried by roll call vote to approve the August 2019 agenda.

Item 3 - APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE PRIOR MEETING

It was moved, seconded (Forbes/Balatayo: abstained by Martinez and Hillis) and carried by roll call vote to approve the June 2019 minutes with no corrections.

Item 4 - CO-CHAIR AND MEMBER REPORTS

There were no reports from the committee members

<u>Item 5 – STAFF REPORTS</u>

• Director Teri Clark announced the retirement of Lynette Roby in October.

 Administrator Erin Sullivan provided an update on the pairing of reviewers for the next cohort. There are three site visits schedule in October 2019 that may be on the agenda in October.

Item 6 – PROGRAM CHANGE OF STATUS

Section A: Program Withdrawals: There were 3 program sponsors withdrawing 3 programs. This was an action item. It was moved, seconded (Alvarado/Czajkowski: no recusals) and carried by roll call vote to take action to withdraw the following preparation programs as requested by the institutions:

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Education Specialist: Resource Specialist Added Authorization, effective August 6, 2019.

Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint USD (CLOSED)

Teacher Induction, effective August 6, 2019

University of California, Riverside

Added Authorization: Early Childhood Special Education, effective May 2, 2019

Section B: Program Requesting Reactivation:

There was 1 institution requesting reactivation. It was moved, seconded (Forbes/Alvarado: no recusals) and carried by roll call vote to take action to reactivate following preparation program as requested by the institution:

California State University, Northridge

Specialist Teaching: Reading and Literacy Added Authorization, effective August 6, 2019.

Section C: Adding a New Content Area:

There were no institutions requesting to add a new contact area to an existing program.

Section D: Programs Transitioning:

There were no programs requesting to transition.

<u>Section E: Programs Moving to Inactive Status:</u>

There were no requests to move programs to inactive status.

Item 7- DISCUSSION OF QUESTIONS PROVIDED BY THE COMMITTEE TO FORTUNE SCHOOL

This was an information/action item. Director Teri Clark presented this item. She was joined by institutional representatives Dr. Roque Neto, Co-Dean; Dr. Angelo Williams, Co-Dean; and Ms. Carmy Preston, Coordinator of Teacher Education; Margaret Fortune, President/CEO; Erin Sipes, FSE Instructor and Special Education Consultant; and Marilyn Delgado, faculty. Committee member Martin Martinez recused himself from the item.

After discussion, the committee requested addition information regarding question 3 related to the qualifications of the instructors who support the candidates in the acquisition of content

specific pedagogy. They requested Fortune School to provide names and CV's of the applicants that will be hired by the end of August 2019 for the September start of classes.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no members of the public present for comments.

ADJORNMENT

Co-Chair Anna Moore adjourned the meeting at 2:57p.m. The next meeting of the COA is scheduled for October 24, 2019.