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SUBJECT: Proposed Amendments to Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations Pertaining to 
Cost Recovery Fees for Extraordinary Accreditation Activities 

Summary 
The Commission on Teacher Credentialing (Commission) proposes amendments to Title 5 of the 
California Code of Regulations (CCR) related to Cost Recovery Fees for Extraordinary 
Accreditation Activities. These proposed amendments will update sections 80692 (a)(2)(A), 
80692(a)(2)(B), and 80692(a)(2)(C); and modify the numbering to reflect the amendments. This 
does not propose changes to the regulations governing annual accreditation fees. 

Notice of 15-Day Notice is Hereby Given 
Notice is Hereby Given, pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 11346.8(c) 
and section 44 of Title 1 of the California Code of Regulations, that the Commission has 
proposed the following modifications to the proposed regulations, Title 5 of the California Code 
of Regulations pertaining to Cost Recovery Fees for Extraordinary Accreditation Activities. This 
does not propose changes to the regulations governing annual accreditation fees. 

Any person who wishes to comment on the proposed modifications to the text of the 
regulations may do so by submitting written comments postmarked beginning June 29, 2023, to 
Lynette Roby at Lynette.Roby@ctc.ca.gov. Any written comments are to be restricted to the 
modifications to the enclosed language. The Commission is not required to respond to 
comments received in response to this notice on other aspects of the proposed regulations. All 
written comments received or postmarked by July 15, 2023, which pertain to the modified text 
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of the proposed regulations provided in this notice will be reviewed and responded to by 
Commission staff as part of the compilation of the rulemaking file. 

Summary of Modifications 
The Commission adopted regulations related to cost recovery fees for extraordinary 
accreditation activities at the September 27, 2013, meeting following the addition of Education 
Code section 44374.5, which authorized the Commission to develop and implement a cost 
recovery plan for extraordinary accreditation activities. Emergency regulations were approved 
by the Office of Administrative Law in October 2013, and in 2014 the regulations became 
permanent. In December 2022, proposed amendments to these regulations were adopted by 
the Commission that updated the three categories of cost recovery fees with explicit 
identification of which credential program type falls under each fee category. This replaces the 
reliance on number of standards in a credential program and considers the complexity of a 
program’s standards and performance expectations. Accordingly, a notice was submitted to the 
Office of Administrative Law and a 45-day notice was posted May 12, 2023, with the public 
comment period closing June 26, 2023. No comments were received. 

Following the posting of the 45-day notice, the Commission identified the need to correct and 
clarify some language of the regulation text. During the June 15, 2023 Commission meeting, 
Commissioners approved the proposed updates to the adopted regulation text. The proposed 
amendments to section 80692 are as follows: 

• 80692(a)(2)(A), (B) and (C): Language is amended for clarity and consistency amongst 
the three categories of initial preparation programs. 

• 80692(a)(2)(C): This list of added authorizations is amended to include Child Welfare 

and Attendance Authorization. The numbering is amended to reflect the addition. 

• Finally, formatting will be updated for purposes of review by the Office of 
Administrative Law. 

Written Comment Period/Contact Persons 
The 15-day written comment period closes on July 15, 2023. General or substantive inquiries 
and comments concerning the proposed action must be received by that time. Interested 
parties may submit comments in writing to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing, attn. 
Lynette Roby, 1900 Capitol Avenue, Sacramento, California 95811; by email to Lynette Roby at 
Lynette.Roby@ctc.ca.gov; or by telephone at 916-324-3668. 

Upon request, a copy of the express terms of the proposed action and a copy of the Initial 
Statement of Reasons will be made available. This information is also available on the 
Commission’s rulemaking website. In addition, all the information on which this proposal is 
based is available for inspection and copying. 
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Documents Relied Upon in Preparing 15-Day Notice 

• June 15, 2023, Agenda Item 1C, Approval of the June 2023 Consent Calendar, GS 1C – 
21, https://www.ctc.ca.gov/docs/default-source/commission/agendas/2023-06/2023-
06-1c.pdf?sfvrsn=2ac120b1_3 

Availability of Documents on the Internet 
Copies of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, the Initial Statement of Reasons, the text of the 
regulations, and this 15-Day Notice can be accessed through the Commission’s website listed 
above. 

https://www.ctc.ca.gov/docs/default-source/commission/agendas/2023-06/2023-06-1c.pdf?sfvrsn=2ac120b1_3
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The Commission on Teacher Credentialing has illustrated changes to the original text in the 
following manner: text originally proposed to be added is underlined; text proposed to be 
deleted is displayed in strikeout. Text proposed to be amended in this 15-day notice is shown in 
in double underline for additions and double strike out for deletions. 

CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

TITLE 5. EDUCATION 

DIVISION 8. COMMISSION ON TEACHER CREDENTIALING 
Chapter 5. Approved Programs 

Article 3. Other Program Approval Procedures 

Subarticle 3. Cost Recovery Fees for Program Approval and Accreditation 

§ 80692. Program Approval and Accreditation Fees. 

The following fees associated with the activities defined in §80691 shall be submitted to the 
Commission by the professional preparation program: 

(a) Fees for document review beyond the Standard Accreditation Cycle shall be 
submitted with the professional preparation program's formal response to 
the applicable standards as follows: 
(1) Initial institutional approval: $2,000 flat fee. 
(2) Initial program review: 

(A) Initial Preparation program Professional preparation program that 
addresses twelve or more standards: $2,000 flat fee. A $2,000 flat fee 
shall be assessed for professional preparation programs that lead to one 
of the following credential types: 
(i) Preliminary Multiple Subject Teaching 
(ii) Preliminary Single Subject Teaching 
(iii) Preliminary Education Specialist Teaching: Mild to Moderate Support 

Needs, 
(iv) Extensive Support Needs, Early Childhood Special Education, Deaf 

and Hard of Hearing, and/or Visual Impairments 
(v) Preliminary Early Childhood Education Specialist Instruction 
(vi) Preliminary Administrative Services 
(vii) Designated Subjects Career/Technical Education 
(viii) Designated Subjects Adult Education 
(ix) Pupil Personnel Services 
(x) School Nurse with or without the Special Teaching Authorization in 

Health 
(xi) Speech-Language Pathology with or without Special Class Authorization 
(xii) Orientation and Mobility 
(xiii) Audiology 
(xiv) Teacher Librarian Services 

(B) essional preparation program that addresses six to eleven standards: 
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$1,500 flat fee. Second Tier and Specialist program: $1,500 flat fee. 
A $1,500 flat fee shall be assessed for professional preparation 
programs that lead to one of the following credential types or added 
authorizations: 

(i) Clear Multiple Subject Teaching 
(ii) Clear Single Subject Teaching 
(iii) Clear Education Specialist Teaching 
(iv) Clear Early Childhood Education (ECE) Specialist Instruction 
(v) Clear Administrative Services 
(vi) Bilingual Authorization 
(vii) Adapted Physical Education 

(C) Added Authorization and Special Class/Teaching Authorization program 
Professional preparation program that addresses fewer than six 
standards: $1,000 flat fee. A $1,000 flat fee shall be assessed for 
professional preparation programs that lead to one of the following 
credential types or added authorizations: 
(i) Special Education Added Authorizations: Autism Spectrum 

Disorders, Adapted Physical Education, Deaf-Blind, Early 
Childhood Special Education, Emotional Disturbance, Orthopedic 
Impairments, Other Health Impairments, Resource Specialist, 
and/or Traumatic Brain Injury 

(ii) Mathematics Instructional Added Authorization 
(iii) Mathematics Instructional Leadership Specialist 
(iv) Reading and Literacy Added Authorization 
(v) Reading and Literacy Leadership Specialist 
(vi) Agricultural Specialist 
(vii) Designated Subjects Special Subjects 
(viii) Designated Subjects Supervision and Coordination 
(ix) California Teachers of English Learners 
(x) English Learner Authorization 
(xi) Special Teaching Authorization in Health for School Nurse credential 
(xii) Special Class Authorization for Speech-Language Pathology credential 
(xiii) Child Welfare and Attendance Authorization 

(D) Notwithstanding the flat fees in sections (A)(B) and (C) of 80692(a)(2) that 
shall be applied to student teaching pathways, programs proposing internship 
pathways shall be assessed an additional $500. 

(D) (E) A professional preparation program that provides a number of Board 
of Institutional Review members that is equal to or greater than two times 
the number of their program documents submitted for initial program 
review annually and that assume all travel costs related to the review of the 
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program documents submitted for initial review shall be exempt from 
payment of the fees associated with this subsection. 

(b) Fees for the following activities in excess of the regularly scheduled 

accreditation activities shall be submitted to the Commission in the year 

that the extraordinary activities are performed: 

(1) Focused site visit: $1,000 for each individual attending the focused site visit. 
(2) Late reviews: $500 per document. submission. 
(3) Program assessments: 

(A) No fee shall be charged for the first three reviews of a program 
assessment submitted by a professional preparation program. The fee for 
review of a program assessment beyond the first three reviews: $1,000 
flat fee. 
(B) A professional preparation program that does not complete the 
program assessment process at least six months prior to a scheduled site 
visit: $3,000 flat fee for two additional Board of Institutional Review 
members to review the program during the site visit. 

(4) (3) Stipulations: 
(A) Site revisit: $1,000 per individual attending the site revisit; 
(B) Review of a report due to stipulations that does not require a site 
revisit as detailed in the Accreditation Handbook Chapter Nine, Activities 
during the Seventh Year of the Accreditation Cycle (rev. 2012), available 
on the Commission's website and hereby incorporated by reference: 
$500 flat fee; 
(C) Review of a report associated with a site revisit as detailed in the 
Accreditation Handbook Chapter Nine, Activities during the Seventh Year of 
the Accreditation Cycle (rev. 2012): $1,000 flat fee. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 44225, Education Code. Reference: Sections 44225(h), 
44371, 44372, 44373(c), 44374 and 44374.5, Education Code. 

HISTORY 
1. New section filed 10-23-2013 as an emergency; operative 10-23-2013 (Register 
2013, No. 43). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 4-21-
2014 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following 
day. 
2. Certificate of Compliance as to 10-23-2013 order transmitted to OAL 1-7-2014 and 
filed 2-5- 2014 (Register 2014, No. 6). 

This database is current through 7/8/22 Register 2022, No. 27 5 CCR § 80692, 44265, 
44265.5, 44227.7, and 44373, Education Code. 




