
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 
 
 

CODED 
CORRESPONDENCE 

DATE: 
July 25, 2012 

NUMBER: 
12-07 

TO: 
All Individuals and Groups Interested in the Activities 
of the Commission on Teacher Credentialing 

FROM: 
Mary Vixie Sandy 
Executive Director 
Commission on Teacher Credentialing 

SUBJECT: Application Processing Fee Restoration and Testing Fee Increase Effective July 
1, 2012 

Summary: 
The 2012-2013 Budget Act (Chap. 21, Stats. 2012) authorizes the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing (Commission) to restore the application processing fee to the statutory limit of 
$70.00 (reference Education Code §44235) and increase testing fees by 5% effective July 1, 2012.  

Key Provisions: 
Application Processing Fees 
The CTC Online system was updated on July 1, 2012 to reflect the restored processing fee. 
Individuals completing the online payment process on or after that date will be required to submit 
the $70.00 processing fee plus the $2.00 service fee, even if the recommending program sponsor 
completed the online recommend before July 1, 2012. Paper applications postmarked before July 
1, 2012 will be accepted with the $55.00 fee. However, paper applications postmarked on or after 
July 1, 2012 will be returned for insufficient fees if the enclosed payment is less than $70.00. The 
Fee Information leaflet (CL-659) has been updated to reflect the restored processing fees. 

Teaching and Services Documents 
Effective July 1, 2012, the processing fee for teaching and services credentials, certificates, 
permits, authorizations, and waiver documents (unless exempt) is $70.00 (plus the $2.00 service 
fee for online applications). This includes initial, renewal, and subsequent applications for teaching 
and services documents. 

The $70.00 processing fee will be waived on the initial credential application requested by an out-
of-state applicant who relocates to California due to orders received from a branch of the United 
States Armed Forces that require the applicant’s spouse to relocate to California. Refer to the 
Military Service leaflet (CL-892) for additional information regarding this fee waiver.  

http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl659.pdf
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl892.pdf
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Certificate of Clearance Fees and Credits 
The processing fee for a Certificate of Clearance (COC) is $35.00 (plus the $2.00 service fee for 
online applications) effective July 1, 2012. The fee credit for a COC issued on the basis of the $70 
fee will be $35.00 if requested at the time an individual applies for an initial teaching or services 
credential. The COC fee credit will be considered ‘used’ if not requested at the time the initial 
teaching or services credential is issued or when the COC expires, whichever occurs first.  

Certificate of Eligibility Credit 
The processing fee to upgrade a Certificate of Eligibility (Administrative Services or Education 
Specialist Instruction) is one-half of the application fee in effect at the time the preliminary/Level I 
application is submitted. Therefore, the processing fee to upgrade a Certificate of Eligibility to a 
Preliminary Administrative Services Credential or a Level I Education Specialist Instruction 
Credential (as applicable) on or after July 1, 2012 is $35.00, regardless of the amount paid at the 
time the Certificate was issued. 

Request for Restriction Change 
Effective July 1, 2012, the processing fee required at the time an employing agency requests a 
restriction change on a permit or waiver or when a program sponsor requests a restriction change 
on an intern credential is $35.00. The $35.00 processing fee for restriction changes is only 
available with the submission of a paper application. The full $70.00 processing fee plus the $2.00 
service charge will be required for restriction changes submitted via the CTC Online system. 

Certificate of Completion of Staff Development 
The statutory limit for the processing fee associated with the Certificate of Completion of Staff 
Development (CCSD) is set at $45.00 [reference Education Code §44253.11(e)]. Therefore, the 
CCSD processing fee will remain at $45.00. 

Name Changes 
With the implementation of the CTC Online system, an application and processing fee is no longer 
required for name change requests. Individuals may update their personal profile (name, address, 
telephone number, email) at any time via the CTC Online Educator Page. An email will be sent to 
the educator confirming a change was made to his/her personal profile and providing instructions 
on what actions to take if the changes were not initiated by the educator. 

Testing Fee Increase 
In an effort to ensure fiscal stability within the Test Development and Administration Account, the 
2012-13 California State Budget includes a 5% testing fee increase effective July 1, 2012. 
Individuals may contact the testing agencies directly for the current examination fees. The Exams 
Page on the Commission’s website provides links to the various testing agencies. 

Important Dates: 
July 1, 2012 – Effective date for application processing fee restoration and testing fee increase  

Background: 
The Commission is referred to as a “special fund” agency because the daily operations of the 
agency are supported by two special funds: (1) Teacher Credentials Fund; and (2) Test 
Development and Administration Account. The Commission does not receive a General Fund 

Commission on Teacher Credentialing 
1900 Capitol Avenue 
Sacramento, CA 95811 

https://educator.ctc.ca.gov/esales_enu/start.swe?SWECmd=GotoView&SWEView=CTC+Educator+Login+View+Web
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/files/CAW-exams.pdf
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/files/CAW-exams.pdf
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allocation to support its operations. The support comes from the fees collected as the result of 
issuing credentials and administering the various educator preparation examinations for candidates. 

The credential fee, established annually in the Budget Act, has fallen below the statutory limit of 
$70 at the direction of the Administration and the Legislature since 1998 and has been at $55 since 
2000. The processing fee restoration and testing fee increase included in the 2012-2013 Budget 
Act will allow the Commission to maintain the essential functions of the agency. 

Source: 
Education Code §§44235 and 44253.11(e) 

References: 
Educator Page: 
https://educator.ctc.ca.gov/esales_enu/start.swe?SWECmd=GotoView&SWEView=CTC+Educato 
r+Login+View+Web 

Exams Page: http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/files/CAW-exams.pdf 

Fee Information Leaflet CL 659: http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl659.pdf 

Military Service Leaflet CL-892: http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl892.pdf 

Contact Information: 
Commission’s Information Services Unit by email at: credentials@ctc.ca.gov. 

Commission on Teacher Credentialing 
1900 Capitol Avenue 
Sacramento, CA 95811 

mailto:credentials@ctc.ca.gov
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl892.pdf
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl659.pdf
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/files/CAW-exams.pdf
https://educator.ctc.ca.gov/esales_enu/start.swe?SWECmd=GotoView&SWEView=CTC+Educato



