
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

 

 

CODED 
CORRESPONDENCE 

DATE: 
July 20, 2011 

NUMBER: 
11-11 

TO: 
School District Superintendents and County 
Offices of Education Superintendents 

FROM: 
Elizabeth Graybill 
Interim Executive Director  
Commission on Teacher Credentialing 

SUBJECT: Employer Required Reporting: Change in Employment Status Due to 
Misconduct/ Breach of Contract/ Mandatory Leave of Absence Offense   
Title 5 California Code Regulations Section 80303 and Education Code 
sections 44420 and 44940 

Summary: 
This coded correspondence contains information reminding school districts and other 
educational employers of the requirement to report to the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing’s (Commission) Division of Professional Practices a change of 
employment status of the certificated employees under the following circumstances: 

 California Code of Regulations Section 80303 requires that a school district report 
a certificated employee’s change in employment status due to allegations of 
misconduct.  

 Education Code section 44940 requires that a school district report when a 
certificated employee has been charged with a mandatory leave of absence 
offense. 

 Education Code section 44420 provides that the Commission shall investigate a 
report by a school district regarding a credential holder who refuses, without good 
cause, to fulfill a valid contract of employment. 

Detailed information concerning when and how to file pursuant to the above section, 
including filing forms, are available on the Educator Discipline webpage of the 
Commission website:  http://www.ctc.ca.gov/educator-discipline/school-districts.html. 

http://www.ctc.ca.gov/educator-discipline/school-districts.html
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Key Provisions: 
Title 5 California Code Regulations Section 80303:  

(a) Whenever a credential holder, working in a position requiring a credential: 

(1) is dismissed or nonreelected;  

(2) resigns;  

(3) is suspended or placed on unpaid administrative leave as a final adverse 
employment action for more than 10 days;  

(4) retires; or 

(5) is otherwise terminated by a decision not to employ or re-employ; as a result 
of an allegation of misconduct or while an allegation of misconduct is pending, 
the superintendent of the employing school district shall report the change in 
employment status to the Commission not later than 30 days after the employment 
action. 

(b) The report shall contain all known information about each alleged act of 
misconduct. 

(c) The report shall be made to the Commission regardless of any proposed or 
actual agreement, settlement, or stipulation not to make such a report. The report 
shall also be made if allegations served on the holder are withdrawn in 
consideration of the holder's resignation, retirement or other failure to contest the 
truth of the allegations. 

(d) Failure to make a report required under this section constitutes unprofessional 
conduct. The Committee may investigate any superintendent who holds a 
credential who fails to file reports required by this section. 

(e) The superintendent of an employing school direct shall, in writing, inform a 
credential holder of the content of this regulation whenever that credential holder, 
working in a position requiring a credential, is dismissed, nonreelected, resigns, is 
suspended or placed on unpaid administrative leave as a final adverse 
employment action for more than ten days, retires or is otherwise terminated by a 
decision not to employ or re-employ as a result of an allegation of misconduct or 
while an allegation of misconduct is pending. Failure to comply with this 
subdivision by a superintendent of schools constitutes unprofessional conduct 
which shall be investigated by the Committee of Credentials. 

Commission on Teacher Credentialing   
1900 Capitol Avenue  
Sacramento, CA  95811 

Phone: 1-888-921-2682 
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Education Code section 44940: 
(a) For purposes of this section, "charged with a mandatory leave of absence 

offense" is defined to mean charged by complaint, information, or indictment 
filed in a court of competent jurisdiction with the commission of any sex offense 
as defined in Section 44010, or with the commission of any offense involving 
aiding or abetting the unlawful sale, use, or exchange to minors of controlled 
substances listed in Schedule I, II, or III, as contained in Section 11054, 11055, 
and 11056 of the Health and Safety Code, with the exception of marijuana, 
mescaline, peyote, or tetrahydrocannabinols. 

(b) For purposes of this section, "charged with an optional leave of absence 
offense" is defined to mean a charge by complaint, information, or indictment 
filed in a court of competent jurisdiction with the commission of any controlled 
substance offense as defined in Section 44011 or 87011, or a violation or 
attempted violation of Section 187 of the Penal Code, or Sections 11357 to 11361, 
inclusive, Section 11363, 11364, or 11370.1 of the Health and Safety Code, 
insofar as these sections relate to any controlled substances except marijuana, 
mescaline, peyote, or tetrahydrocannabinols. 

(c) For purposes of this section and Section 44940.5, the term "school district" 
includes county offices of education. 

(d) (1) Whenever any certificated employee of a school district is charged with a 
mandatory leave of absence offense, as defined in subdivision (a), upon being 
informed that a charge has been filed, the governing board of the school district 
shall immediately place the employee on compulsory leave of absence. The 
duration of the leave of absence shall be until a time not more than 10 days after 
the date of entry of the judgment in the proceedings. No later than 10 days after 
receipt of the complaint, information, or indictment described by subdivision (a), 
the school district shall forward a copy to the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing. 

(2) Upon receiving a copy of a complaint, information, or indictment described 
in subdivision (a) and forwarded by a school district, the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing shall automatically suspend the employee's teaching or service 
credential. The duration of the suspension shall be until a time not more than 10 
days after the date of entry of the judgment in the proceedings. 

(e) (1) Whenever any certificated employee of a school district is charged with 
an optional leave of absence offense as defined in subdivision (b), the governing 
board of the school district may immediately place the employee upon 
compulsory leave in accordance with the procedure in this section and Section 
44940.5. If any certificated employee is charged with an offense deemed to fall 
into both the mandatory and the optional leave of absence categories, as defined 
in subdivisions (a) and (b), that offense shall be treated as a mandatory leave of 
absence offense for purposes of this section. No later than 10 days after receipt of 
the complaint, information, or indictment described by subdivision (a), the school 
district shall forward a copy to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing. 
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(2) Upon receiving a copy of a complaint, information, or indictment described 
in subdivision (a) and forwarded by a school district, the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing shall automatically suspend the employee's teaching or service 
credential. The duration of the suspension shall be until a time not more than 10 
days after the date of entry of the judgment in the proceedings. 

Education Code section 44420: 
(a) If any person employed by a school district in a position requiring 

certification qualifications refuses, without good cause, to fulfill a valid contract 
of employment with the district or leave the service of the district without the 
consent of the superintendent, if any, or the governing board, of the district except 
in the manner provided for by law, the commission may, after proof of this fact is 
made to it, take an adverse action on the credential holder but may not suspend 
the credential for more than one year or revoke the credential. 

(b) If the credentials issued to the person by the commission have been subject 
to adverse action pursuant to subdivision (a), the commission may, if the 
credentials again become subject to suspension under this section, suspend the 
credentials for not more than two years. 

(c) The commission shall investigate allegations brought under this section in 
accordance with Section 44242.5. 

Background: 
Title 5 California Code Regulations Section 80303 has been in effect since October 1997 
and was last changed in 2005 pursuant to SB 299 (Chap. 342, Stats. 2001).  Failure to 
make a report required under this section constitutes unprofessional conduct. The 
Committee may investigate any superintendent who holds a credential who fails to file 
reports required by this section. 

References: 
Education Code § 44420 and 44940  
Title 5 California Code Regulations § 80303  

Contact Information: 
Questions concerning mandated reporting as a result of allegations of misconduct can be 
sent via e-mail to the Division of Professional Practices:  DPPquestions@ctc.ca.gov 

 
Commission on Teacher Credentialing   
1900 Capitol Avenue  
Sacramento, CA  95811 

Phone: 1-888-921-2682 

mailto:DPPquestions@ctc.ca.gov
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