# **4B**

## **Action**

## **Professional Practices Committee**

## **Committee of Credentials Vacancies for Fiscal Year 2019-20**

**Executive Summary:** The Commission will review the terms of the current members of the Committee of Credentials and will declare vacancies for one school administrator member, one secondary teacher member, and one public member.

**Recommended Action:** Staff recommends that the Commission declare vacancies for three positions on the Committee of Credentials.

Presenter: Vanessa Whitnell, Director, Division of Professional Practices

## **Strategic Plan Goal:**

#### I. Educator Quality

d) Effectively, efficiently, and fairly monitor the fitness of all applicants and credential holders to work with California students.

## **Committee of Credentials Vacancies for Fiscal Year 2019-20**

## Introduction

The Commission makes appointments to the Committee of Credentials ("Committee") pursuant to Education Code section 44240. This item presents information concerning the expected vacancies for three positions on the Committee.

## **Background**

The Committee is comprised of seven members appointed by the Commission and consists of one elementary teacher, one secondary teacher, one school board member, one school administrator employee, and three public representatives.

The Committee meets three days each month at the offices of the Division of Professional Practices in Sacramento. Members review allegations of educator misconduct to determine whether to recommend discipline.

The Commission's Professional Practices Committee is responsible for informing "the Commission when vacancies occur or may be expected to occur on the Committee of Credentials." (CTC Policy Manual §510). The CTC Policy Manual §511(a) states that "alternates may be selected if deemed qualified. Any alternate so selected will be placed in a pool of alternates and available to fill a vacancy in that position category should the need arise."

The terms of school administrator, Dr. Helio Brasil, and secondary teacher, Sheila Ryskamp, expire on June 30, 2019. The two members have served the maximum of four two-year terms. The term of public member, Ellen Gervase, expires on June 30, 2019, and she has indicated that she is available for reappointment.

#### **Committee of Credentials Members**

The current composition of the Committee and the terms are as follows:

Name	Date First Appointed	Current Term Expires
WADE "STEVE" THORPE Public Representative	07-01-2018	06-30-2020
SCOTTY "CAMERON" BYRD Public Representative	07-01-2018	06-30-2020
ELLEN GERVASE Public Representative	07-01-2015	06-30-2019
DANA MORELINI Elementary Teacher	07-01-2018	06-30-2020

VACANT School Board Member	VACANT	VACANT
HELIO BRASIL, Chair School Administrator	07-01-2011	06-30-2019
SHEILA RYSKAMP Secondary Teacher	07-01-2011	06-30-2019

#### Staff Recommendation

Staff requests that the Commission consider whether to reappoint Ellen Gervase for another two-year term, or declare a vacancy for public member. Staff requests that the Commission declare a vacancy for Dr. Helio Brasil, effective July 1, 2019, as well as a vacancy for Ms. Sheila Ryskamp, effective July 1, 2019. After the Commission declares vacancies, staff will begin the process of advertising for candidates and schedule interviews for an Ad Hoc Committee.

Staff needs guidance on whether to fill the vacancies from the existing alternate pool for each position, or to advertise for the vacancies and conduct interviews anew for those who submit an application and for any interested individual currently in the alternate pool for each position. If the Commission decides to fill the vacancies from the existing alternate pool for each position, staff will need guidance on how to select the individual who will serve on the Committee of Credentials. For example, call in order of appointment by date, have staff review the applications and make the selection, etc.

The existing alternate pool for the school administrator position is as follows:

Name	Selection Date
Mark Ryan	7/2011
Judy Montgomery - (Rank 1)	9/2017
Christopher Roe - (Rank 2)	9/2017
Alexander Sheldon - (Rank 3)	9/2017
Titus Campos - (Rank 4)	9/2017
Richard Lopez - (Rank 5)	9/2017

The existing alternate pool for the secondary teacher position is as follows:

Name	Selection Date
Kim Jacobsma	7/2011
Kevin Thompson	6/2018