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SUBJECT: Application Processing Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2015 
 

 
Summary: 
In the May Revision, the Governor proposed that the Commission on Teacher Credentialing’s 
(Commission) 2015-16 budget include a processing fee increase from $70 to $100 (reference 
Education Code §44235). The Legislature has adopted and the Governor has approved the 
proposal as part of the 2015 Budget Act; therefore, the proposed fee increase will become 
effective July 1, 2015. 
 
Key Provisions: 
Application Processing Fees 
Effective July 1, 2015, the processing fee for teaching and services credentials, certificates, 
permits, authorizations, and waiver documents (unless exempt) will be $100.00 (an additional 
$2.50 service fee will be assessed for online applications). The new processing fee applies to 
initial, renewal, and subsequent applications for teaching and services documents received at 
the Commission on or after July 1, 2015. 
 
The processing fee will continue to be waived on the initial credential application submitted by 
an out-of-state prepared applicant who relocates to California due to orders received from a 
branch of the United States Armed Forces requiring his or her spouse to relocate to California. 
Refer to the Military Service leaflet (CL-892) for additional information regarding this fee 
waiver. 
 
Applications Submitted via the Online Recommendation System 
The CTC Online system has been updated to reflect the increased processing fee for application 
payments received on or after July 1, 2015. Applicants completing the online payment process 
on or after that date will be required to submit the $100.00 processing fee plus the $2.50 
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service fee, even if the recommending program sponsor completed the online recommendation 
before July 1, 2015.  
Paper Applications 
Paper applications postmarked before July 1, 2015 will be accepted with the $70.00 processing 
fee. However, paper applications postmarked on or after July 1, 2015 will be returned for 
insufficient fees if the enclosed payment is less than $100.00. 
 
Certificate of Clearance Fees and Credits 
The processing fee for a Certificate of Clearance (COC) is $50.00 (with an additional $2.50 
service fee assessed for online applications) effective July 1, 2015. The fee credit for a COC 
issued on the basis of the $100.00 processing fee will be $50.00 if requested at the time an 
individual applies for an initial teaching or services credential. The COC fee credit will be 
considered “used” if not requested at the time the initial teaching or services credential is 
issued or when the COC expires, whichever occurs first. 
 
Certificate of Eligibility Credit 
The processing fee to upgrade a Certificate of Eligibility (Administrative Services or Education 
Specialist Instruction) is one-half the processing fee in effect at the time the application for the 
preliminary/Level I is submitted. Therefore, the processing fee to upgrade a Certificate of 
Eligibility to a Preliminary Administrative Services Credential or a Level I Education Specialist 
Instruction Credential on or after July 1, 2015 is $50.00, regardless of the amount paid at the 
time the Certificate was issued. 
 
Request for Restriction Change 
Effective July 1, 2015, the processing fee required at the time an employing agency requests a 
restriction change on a permit or waiver or when a program sponsor requests a restriction 
change on an intern credential is $50.00. The $50.00 processing fee for restriction changes is 
only available with the submission of a paper application. The full $100.00 processing fee plus 
the $2.50 service charge will be required for restriction changes submitted via the CTC Online 
system. 
 
Child Development Permit Upgrades 
Regulations allow the holder of an initially issued Child Development Permit to upgrade to a 
more advanced permit within three years of the issuance date of the permit held for one-half of 
the processing fee in effect at the time that the application is submitted.  Effective July 1, 2015, 
the processing fee required for individuals who upgrade from an initially issued Child 
Development Permit to a more advanced permit will be $50.00.  
 
Certificate of Completion of Staff Development 
The statutory processing fee for the Certificate of Completion of Staff Development (CCSD) is 
set at $45.00 [reference Education Code §44253.11(e)]. Therefore, the CCSD processing fee will 
remain at $45.00. 
 
Important Dates: 
July 1, 2015 – Effective date for application processing fee increase. 
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Background: 
The Commission is a “special fund” agency because the daily operations of the agency are 
supported by two special funds: (1) Teacher Credentials Fund; and (2) Test Development and 
Administration Account. The revenue for these funds comes from the fees collected as the 
result of issuing documents, administering the various education preparation programs, and 
examinations for candidates. The processing fee increase will allow the Commission to maintain 
the essential core functions of the agency. 
 
Source: 
Education Code §§44235 and 44253.11(e) 
 
References: 
For new fee information please reference the new fee leaflet (CL-659) after it becomes 
effective July 1, 2015.  The current version of the fee leaflet remains in effect until June 30, 
2015. 
 
Military Service Leaflet CL-892: http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl892.pdf  
 
Contact Information: 
Questions may be directed to the Commission’s Information Services staff by email at 
credentials@ctc.ca.gov or by telephone at (916) 322-4974 Monday through Friday between the 
hours of 12:30 pm and 4:30 pm. 
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