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To: All Individuals and Groups Interested in Activities of the California
Commission on Teacher Credentialing

From: Sam W. Swofford, Ed. D.
Executive Director

Subject: Reduction in the Application Fee and Application Fee Waiver for
First-Time Credential Applicants

The 2000-2001 Budget Act includes two provisions that affect the fees charged by
the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.  The budget bill reduces
the current $60 application fee to $55.  The bill also appropriates $1,650,000 to the
Commission to again waive application fees for first-time applicants of multiple
subject, single subject, special education and specialist credentials.

Fee Reduction
The fee reduction is effective for applications received on or after July 1, 2000, but
it does not lower the substitute permit fee because that fee is already $55.  Please
see the attached fee chart for a list of the July 1, 2000 fees.  Credential waivers
will also be $55.  The Commission will not be making refunds in cases where the
applicant submits a $60 fee in error.

Fee Waiver
The fee waiver applies to both California-prepared applicants and teachers
prepared outside of California.  The Commission will waive the fee for
applications that are received by the Commission before July 1, 2001. This
correspondence is to alert colleges and universities, county offices of education
and public school districts that applicants applying for the first time for the
credentials listed below do not need to submit the $55 application fee.

Types of Credentials
The $55 application fee will be waived for the following credentials:

Multiple Subject Teaching Credential
Single Subject Teaching Credential
Education Specialist (Special Education)
Specialist in Agriculture



Specialist in Bilingual Cross-Cultural Instruction
Specialist in Early Childhood Education
Specialist in Gifted
Specialist in Health Science
Specialist in Mathematics
Specialist in Reading and Language Arts
Specialist in Special Education

The fee waiver applies to applicants for a one-year nonrenewable (OYNR),
preliminary or professional clear credential, including out of state applicants
applying under Education Code Section 44275.3 (AB838 Pacheco).  It does not
apply to applicants for internships, emergency permits and credential waivers,
nor to people upgrading from the OYNR to preliminary or preliminary to
professional clear.

Submission Process
When submitting applications that qualify for the fee waiver, please write “Fee
Waiver” on application 41-4 above the box identified for the bar coded label and
do not attach the application fee.  This will alert the Commission’s Cashiering
Unit that a $55 fee should not accompany this application.  Fingerprint
processing fees of $56 are still required when fingerprint cards are included
with an application.

Information
For further information, please contact the Commission at (916) 445-7256 or toll
free outside the 916 area code at (888) 921-2682 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.,
weekdays or by e-mail at <credentials@ctc.ca.gov>.


