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Executive Director

Subject: Application Fee Waiver for First-Time Credential Applicants for
Multiple Subject, Single Subject, Education Specialist, and Specialist
Credentials

The 1999-2000 Budget Act appropriated $1.5 million to the California
Commission on Teacher Credentialing to waive application fees for first-time
applicants of multiple subject, single subject, special education and specialist
credentials.  The fee waiver applies to both California-prepared applicants and
teachers prepared outside of California.  The Commission will waive the fee for
applications that are received by the Commission between July 1, 1999 and June
30, 2000.  For applications that have already been received, the Commission will
issue a refund to the applicant.  This correspondence is to alert colleges and
universities, county offices of education and public school districts that
applicants applying for the first time for the credentials listed below do not need
to submit the $60.00 application fee.

Types of Credentials
The following credentials will be exempt from the $60.00 application fee:

Multiple Subject Teaching Credential
Single Subject Teaching Credential
Education Specialist
Specialist in Agriculture
Specialist in Bilingual Cross-Cultural Instruction
Specialist in Early Childhood Education
Specialist in Gifted
Specialist in Health Science
Specialist in Mathematics
Specialist in Reading and Language Arts
Specialist in Special Education



The fee waiver applies to applicants for a one-year nonrenewable (OYNR),
preliminary or professional clear credential including out of state applicants
applying under Education Code Section 44275.3 (AB838 Pacheco).  It does not
apply to applicants for internships, emergency permits and credential waivers,
nor to people upgrading from the OYNR to preliminary or preliminary to
professional clear.

Submission Process
When submitting applications that qualify for the fee waiver, please write ÒFee
WaiverÓ on application 41-4 above the box identified for the bar coded label and
do not attach the application fee.  This will alert the CommissionÕs Cashiering
Unit that a $60.00 fee should not accompany this application.  Fingerprint
processing fees of $56.00 are still required when fingerprint cards are included
with an application.

Refund Process
The Commission will refund the $60.00 application fee to those individuals
qualifying for the fee waiver who submitted their application on or after July 1,
1999 and before September 1, 1999.  It is currently taking twelve weeks to process
applications, therefore the Commission will not begin processing these refunds
until October 1999.  The Department of General Services processes the
CommissionÕs refunds and the State ControllerÕs Office issues the checks, which
normally takes four weeks.  Applicants who paid the fee should not anticipate
receiving the refund until December 1999.

Information
For further information, contact the Commission at (916) 445-7256 between 8:00
a.m. and 5:00 p.m., weekdays or by e-mail at <credentials@ctc.ca.gov>.


