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STATE OF CALIFORNiA A . GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN, Governor

COMMISSION ON TEACHER CREDENTIALING

} 1812 9TH STREET
SACRAMENTO, CA  94244-2700

(916) 445-0184

OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

. : 87-8811 B
December 11, 1987

TO: Designated Individuals - Representing County Super-
' ~ intendents of Schools, Credential Analysts in -Cdunty
Offices, and Individuals Interested in the Following
Category of Information from the Commission on

Teacher Credent1a11ng '

CATEGORY:  #11 -- Other Specialist Credentlal Informauon '

Read%w ’«%

FROM: Richard K. Mastain, Executive Sgcretary

‘ SUBJECT: Reading Specialists who were employed on the Miller
‘ | j Unruh Reading Certificate. UPDATE (Also refer to

Coded Correspondence #87-8803 and #87-8804)

An emergency Title 5 Regulation to establish a Restricted Specialist -
Teaching Credential in Reading (for grades kindergarten through six)
became effective on December 1, 1987. This emergency regulation
will remain in effect for 120 days. The Commission can now accept

- applications for this credential, intended for teachers who have been
serving on the Miller-Unruh Reading Specialist Certificate Wthh was -
"sunset" on June 30, 1987.. Requirements include:

a.. Possession of a valid California teaching credential, re-
quiring a baccalaureate degree and teacher preparatlon
4 including student teaching;
b.. Possession of a Miller-Unruh Reading Certificate issued
prior to June 30, 1987, pursuant. to the Miller-Unruh
Basic Rea’dingq'—Act’of 1965, or passage of the National
Teacher Examination for Reading Specialist (#30) and
submission of an application for the Miller-Unruh Read-
ing Certificate prior to the effective date of these regula-
A tions; - . v :
. ‘ . c Letters from current or previous employers verifying
completion of three years of teaching experience, includ-



‘ing at least one year in a reading specialist position
within the last five years;

d. Official transcripts showing completion of -the followmg
~ college or university courses:
. a basic course in. the teachmg of elementary school
‘reading, and :
. a basic course in the teaching of elementary school
language, and
. a basic course in the d1agn031s and remedlatlon of
_ readmg disabilities, and
. a course in directed clinical practlce in the remedi-

' ation of reading disabilities.
e.. A fee of $25 00 (one-half of the regular credential fee).

A copy of the emergency regulatlon is attached.

Before this regulation can become effective on a permanent basis
(beyond the 120 days), it must be adopted through the normal public
hearing process. . The public hearing for adoption is scheduled - for
January 7, 1988 (see Coded Correspondence #87-8803).




80048.1.

EMERGENCY TITLE 5 REGULATION FOR SPECIALIST

TEACHING CREDENTIALS IN READING

‘Sneciélist Teaching Credentials in Reading.

(a) Requirements for the Restricted Specialist Teaching Credential in

NOTE:

Reading for Grades Kindergarten Through Six.

(1) For initial issuance:

(2)

(A) Possession of a valid California teaching credential
requiring a baccalaureate degree and _ teacher
preparation, including student teaching.. ' »

(B) Possession of a Miller-Unruh Reading Certificate issued
prior to June 30. 1987, pursuant to the Miller-Unruh
Basic Reading Act of 1965, or passage of the National
Teacher Examination for Reading Specialist (#30) and
submission of an application for the Miller-Unruh
Reading Certlflcate prior to the effective date of these
regulations. - \

(C) Letters from current or previous employvers verifying
completion of three vears of teaching experience.
including at least one year in a reading specialist
position within_the last five vyears.

(D) Official transcripts showing completion of the following
college or university courses: :

1. a_basic course .in the teaching of e]ementarv school
reading, and '
2. a basic course in the teaching of elementary school

language, and
3. a_basic course in the diagnosis and remedlatlon of

reading - disabilities, and
4. a_course in directed clinical practice in the
“remediation _of reading disabilities.

(E) The fee for initial issuance of this credential shall be
one half of the application fee as specified in Section
80487, ,

For renewal: verification of the completion of 150 clock

3)

hours of staff development directly related to the teaching
of reading. completed since the previous Restricted
Specialist Teaching Credential in Reading was issued.

Authorization: the Restricted Specialist Teaching Credential
in_Reading authorizes the holder to serve as a reading

specialist in grades kindergarten through 6.

Authority cited: Section 44225, Education Code, Reference:  Section 44265,

Education Cod



