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CERTIFICATE OF CLEARANCE 

 

Fingerprint clearance through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation (FBI) is required from every applicant prior to the Commission’s issuance of any credential, 

permit, certificate, or waiver. 

 

The Certificate of Clearance is a document issued by the Commission to an individual who has 

completed the Commission's fingerprint character and identification process, whose moral and 

professional fitness has been shown to meet the standards as established by law. The Certificate of 

Clearance is not related to obtaining a clear credential. The Certificate of Clearance provides 

no authorization to provide instruction or services in schools; its sole purpose is to provide 

verification that the holder has completed a professional fitness review. 
 

You must obtain a Certificate of Clearance:   

 If you are enrolled in a California educator preparation program, prior to beginning your student 

teaching or practicum/field based experience 

 If you are applying for a Variable Term Waiver and you have not received fingerprint clearance 

from the Commission. You will not be allowed in a public school setting until both the Certificate 

of Clearance and Variable Term Waiver have been issued. 

 If required by your employer or program sponsor  

 

You do not need to apply for a Certificate of Clearance:  

 If you are an educator applying directly to the Commission for a credential or permit 

 If you have previously completed the fingerprint process and have been issued a currently valid 

document by the Commission 

 
How to Apply - California Residents 

Effective July 1, 2007, California residents must apply for their Certificate of Clearance online. To apply 

for your Certificate of Clearance using the CTC Online system, follow the steps below: 

1. Print three copies of Live Scan 41-LS form [PDF]. Take these to a location offering Live Scan 

electronic fingerprint services for submission to the Live Scan operator.  (Click here to view a 

listing of Live Scan locations). You will be required to pay a processing fee to the Live Scan 

operator for your prints to be scanned. Retain a copy of the Live Scan form for your records.  

2. Navigate to the Commission's Online Services page  

3. Complete the Direct Web Application   

4. Submit by credit card the transaction fee of $52.50 (all online transactions are subject to a $2.50 

service fee in addition to the $50.00 application fee). Immediately following the successful 

submission of the online application, an email will be sent containing a confirmation number.  

State of California 
Commission on Teacher Credentialing 

1900 Capitol Avenue 
Sacramento, CA 95811-4213 

Email: credentials@ctc.ca.gov 
Website: www.ctc.ca.gov 

 
 

 

http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/41-LS.pdf
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/online-services/default.html
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/online-services/pdf/web-app-tips.pdf
mailto:credentials@ctc.ca.gov
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/
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For Those Outside California 
Out-of-state and out-of-country residents may apply for a Certificate of Clearance by completing one of 

the three options noted below (NOTE: a Certificate of Clearance is not required for out-of-state or 

out-of-country prepared educators submitting fingerprint information with an initial application 

for California certification): 

1.  Applicants whose residence is outside California and who cannot be fingerprinted in California 

must submit the following: 

a. A completed application (form 41-4) [PDF]. Select Certificate of Clearance from the drop-

down box in Section 2. 

b. Application processing fee of $50.00 

 c.  Two completed fingerprint cards (FD-258). Attach these to the application form in lieu of 

a Live Scan receipt. There is an additional $49.00 fee to process fingerprint cards, in 

addition to the application processing fee of $50.00. To order fingerprint cards, send a 

request via email to OutOfStateFPs@ctc.ca.gov providing your name and address along 

with “fingerprint cards” noted in the subject line. See Credential Leaflet CL-271 for more 

information on fingerprint cards and processing. 

2.   If your residence is outside of California but you are able to complete the Live Scan process in 

California, then you may follow the same steps noted for a California resident using the online 

application process, as shown above 

 
Fee Credit 
The Certificate of Clearance fee of $50.00 becomes a credit to be applied towards issuance of an individual’s 

initial teaching or services credential. Your fee credit will be applied when you complete the payment process 

for the credential submitted online by your program sponsor. 

 

Processing Time 
Fingerprint and character identification processing via Live Scan is usually completed within 10 

working days. If submitting fingerprint cards, or if an individual’s application requires additional review 

by the Commission's Division of Professional Practices, the process will take longer. If the application is 

pending review by the Commission's Division of Professional Practices, the online file will indicate that 

the application is "pending additional evaluation." 

 

Individuals may view the status of their Certificate of Clearance applications using their Educator Login 

on the Commission’s website. Online applications submitted prior to 4:00 p.m. PST will display on the 

website the following day at approximately 2:00 p.m. PST or later. When requirements for issuance of the 

Certificate of Clearance are completed, an email will be sent informing the individual that the document 

has been granted and can be viewed in 48 hours using their Educator Login. 

 

Period of Validity 
Certificates of Clearance are valid for five years. Fingerprint information will be invalidated for individuals 

who have not held any other type of valid document for more than eighteen (18) months after the expiration 

date of a Certificate of Clearance. The fingerprint process will need to be repeated when individuals whose 

fingerprints have been invalidated subsequently apply for certification. See Coded Correspondence 12-10 for 

more information. 
 

Reference: California Education Code, Sections 44339 and 44340 and Title 5, California Code of Regulations Sections 

80028, 80301, and 80442.  

http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/414.pdf
mailto:OutOfStateFPs@ctc.ca.gov
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl271.pdf
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/online-services/default.html
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/online-services/default.html
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/notices/coded/2012/1210.pdf

