Welcome to the State of California

Welcome to the Commission News Room!

The California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (Commission) is an agency in the Executive Branch of State Government. Created in 1970 by the Ryan Act, it is the oldest of the autonomous state teaching standards board in the nation. The Commission sets state standards for educator preparation, licenses and credentials professional educators, enforces educator professional practices and disciplines credential holders in the State of California.

Hot Topics

  • Chair Darling Hammond sets the record straight on PE-ROTC
    Well-prepared teachers are critical to student success, and California's Commission on Teacher Credentialing sets some of the highest standards for teachers in the country. A recent op-ed in The Sacramento Bee by a group representing physical education teachers claimed that the Commission is lowering its standards. Nothing could be further from the truth.

    Want to know more? Read our FAQs on PE-ROTC.
    August 12, 2014

  • Commission's Accrediting Committee Re-elects Co-Chairs for 2014-15
    The Commission on Teacher Credentialing's Committee on Accreditation (COA) has re-elected two experienced California educators to lead the COA in 2014-15: Kenneth Lopour, representing the K-12 community; and Reyes L. Quezada, Ed.D, representing the higher education community.
    July 16, 2014

  • Governor Appoints Three New Commissioners
    Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. appointed three new members to the Commission: Jose Gonzalez, Bonnie Platt, and Haydee Rodriguez.
    June 18, 2014

  • Total School Services Credentials Up for Many Areas
    The number of individuals earning Services Credentials has increased in several areas over the last five years. Total numbers of credentials for Administrative Services, School Psychologists, School Social Workers and School Nurses showed increased numbers.
    June 16, 2014

  • FAQs on the Proposed Special Teaching Authorization in PE for DSSS-ROTC/BMD
    Want to know more about the Proposed Special Teaching Authorization in PE for DSSS-ROTC/BMD? FAQs are now available!
    April 17, 2014

  • CalSTRS and WestEd Experts Join Commission Teacher Supply/Demand Discussion at April Meeting
    SACRAMENTO - Joining the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (Commission) for review of their annual Teacher Supply in California report (TSR) are two experts in teacher demand: Ed Derman, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Plan Design and Communication, CalSTRS; and Tony Fong, Senior Policy Associate, WestEd. Mr. Fong will discuss WestEd's past research on the topic and touch upon some challenges in gathering teacher demand data, while Mr. Derman will bring statewide and regional data on expected teacher retirements. Discussion of the TSR will take place at the Commission's April 10, 2014 meeting in Sacramento.
    April 7, 2014

  • Chair's Report, April 2014
    Dr. Linda Darling-Hammond, Chair, Commission on Teacher Credentialing, discusses innovation in the face of change.

    April 25, 2014

Recent Press Releases

Also see: Archived Press Releases

Updated August 12, 2014